We have introduced Jigsaw, the mindful approach to PSHE and HWB. Jigsaw brings together Personal, Social, Health Education, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development in a comprehensive scheme of learning. The first lesson of each week is dedicated to introducing the new focus for that week. Teachers tailor these lessons to their children’s needs, which helps them to build relationships with their class, so they can get to know and understand them better as unique human beings.

Teaching strategies are varied and are mindful of preferred learning styles and the need for differentiation. Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme at the same time. 

The Six Puzzles Pieces (Themes/Units of work)

There are six puzzle pieces in our PSHE approach (Jigsaw) that are designed to progress in sequence from the beginning of each academic year:

  • Term 1.1 = Being Me in My World
  • Term 1.2 = Celebrating Difference (including anti-bullying)
  • Term 2.1 = Dreams and Goals
  • Term 2.2 = Healthy Me
  • Term 3.1 = Relationships
  • Term 3.2 = Changing Me (including Puberty and Human Reproduction Education)

Each unit has six puzzle pieces (lessons) which work towards an ‘end product’. For example, The School Learning Charter or The Garden of Dreams and Goals.

Each Piece has two Learning Intentions: one is based on specific PSHE/HWB learning (purple) and the other based on emotional literacy and social skills development (green).

The whole school works on the same puzzle piece at the same time, meaning that each puzzle piece can be launched with a whole-school assembly and learning can be celebrated by the whole school in a meaningful way.